this is where we look for things

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

1.9.01 - 8:37:38

melissa's in town. and lyn just got back. we spent our entire night listening to music in my room and lying on the floor kinda talking about doing something but knowing we weren't going anywhere. it was nice and the room was warm and bright and it felt good to be inside it. it's 38 degrees out right now. ok, this cold stuff needs to stop. i just don't deal with it well. and then there's the added annoyance of the overheated interiors so whenever you get in a building the temperature's suddenly 30 degrees warmer and you're wondering if you've got enough clothes you can take off. yeah, good old layers. what would we do without them?

i think mortal city is probably dar williams' best album. in case you were wondering.

you know what's really strange? when i was working 3 or four hours at a time, it seemed like the longest time. every time i looked at the clock it would only be two minutes later. but now that i'm working 9-5 i look at the clock and an hour's passed and then it's 3 and then it's time to come home. i don't understand what's making the time pass so quickly all of a sudden. time. it's always going to weird me out some.

ever since i got myself that little atomclock program to keep my computer time correct, it's been absolutely wonderful. it's so comforting to look and know that you're looking at the right time. even if it is really an entirely arbitrary designation. much of our lives are the same way, anyway.

sometimes it's difficult for me to distinguish between the way i feel about something and the way i feel about feeling that way. i don't know if that makes any sense to you, but i often feel one step removed from myself, right outside of my emotions, watching. but i watch myself do lots of things. sometimes the capability of my autopilot surprises me. i wonder if everyone feels like this or if living is different for other people. i wonder.

saw unbreakable the other day. a little bit of a letdown. read requiem for a dream. good stuff, but maybe not as powerful as the movie. the images were just something else. the problem with movies is expectations. if i'm able to go into something with no expectations at all, i can usually enjoy it even if it's a subpar effort. but it's nearly impossible to do that. and my expectations are not only present, usually, but far too high. we'll work on that. among other things.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!