this is where we look for things

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

01.26.02 - 12:59

i spent all day hunting for an epson stylus 800 black ink cartridge. at the fourth store they got on the web and informed me that this cartridge is no longer in production. 'maybe in a foreign country,' he quipped. 'time to get a new printer,' he quipped. aw, shut up. i go home. i need to print one last certification letter. i start reading another book. only hours later, when my dad says, but what about your printer, do i even remember my trusty hp deskjet 720C. how could i forget it? oh, but then i can't find the power cord apparatus so it doesn't really matter. sigh. i just want to print this one thing that refuses to transfer via file or email or anything because it's a secure document and whatnot. tomorrow, quest for replacement power cord. oh, and it's special, ok. it's not your everyday power cord. we've got plenty of those. listening to yo la tengo. 'tried so hard'. and i did.

around 1 i pulled into the parking lot of best buy. around 1:15 i left best buy. i looked at the car parked next to me which wore a bumper sticker reading, 'i think, therefore i am pro-life.' ugh. right next to my car sporting its 'i vote pro-choice.' now, this sort of little thing doesn't normally bother me. i mean, yeah, i look, i sigh, i move on, i vote pro-choice. but today it really upset me. i *think*, therefore i am pro-life? the message is just ridiculous. not to mention how clumsily it stumbles off your tongue. i mean, the rhythms are all wrong. i THINK, therefore i am pro-life? come on. i bet i think way more than that driver does and i'm not even close to pro-life. i mean, not that i'm not for life. life's great. whatever.

lately i've been so bored that i don't get out of bed until i feel the need to eat. i wake up at 6. i go back to sleep. i wake up at 7. i go back to sleep. i wake up at 8 and sometimes am able to go back to sleep for a little while, but usually not. i wake up. i lie in bed and read books. i lie in bed and play freecell. i turn up the volume on my speakers (they're always playing music, 24 hours a day -- the volume varies but it's never silent) and listen to my music and stare at my ceiling. i read more. i make a small tent out of my sheets. i surf the net. i read every news story of the day. i go read the ninja page for the millionth time and laugh hysterically like i've never seen it before. i stare at the ceiling. i get hungry (just a little) around noon and decide i should get out of bed. sigh. i used to get out of bed around 8 or 9 but now it just seems pointless. i wish the temp agency would call me. i did ever so well on my microsoft office test. doing nothing really does get boring. i didn't think it'd be boring after only a week, but i guess i surprise myself sometimes. but only sometimes.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!