this is where we look for things

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

01.05.05 - 2:46

forgetting how to learn, learning how to forget. days slip through fingers like water. today an old lady caught my attention, yelling from the steps of a bus. she needed help getting off because the bus driver had stopped in the middle of the street, several feet from the curb. it's hard for me to get off the bus in the middle of the street, she said. the driver should look at my cane and think, she added, imagine how hard it is for someone older and sicker than me, even. i thought, and i imagined myself in her shoes, hailing a passerby because i couldn't even get off a bus by myself. it's so very sad. being old is bad enough, being old and alone is terrifying.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!