this is where we look for things

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11.1.00 - 8:18:50

time is a weird feeling. the yucky purple bruise inside my elbow is getting yuckier and purpler. more purpler. i know. whenever my brother used to make grammatical errors in my presence and i'd call him on it, he'd tell me that he had such control over the english language that he could take those liberties. poetic license of some sort. my brother is a funny guy.

they shipped my piano music from magnolia today. i'm excited. it's funny because i was just talking to chris about that yesterday. his ben harper cd is in kentucky. and then they're shipping it to florida. why? see, things just don't make sense in our world. and we want them to or we try to make them make some sort of sense and that's when everything starts to fall apart.

i love my roommates. (yes, melissa, that includes you.)

i went up to shepherd last night and practiced my harp. i wonder how much harps cost. i think i would like one when i have a place of my own. there is something very peaceful about playing a harp. even just sitting there with the harp resting on your shoulder. peace. there's not enough peace in my world. then i went and played a lot of piano. i love the piano. i had to try three practice rooms before i found a good piano. i usually just take the first available room, but this time, i sat down, and it was this kawai upright, and i sat down and played a scale and thought, 98% of these rooms have steinway grands...why would i settle for this? the next room i tried also had an upright, but door number three was a lovely steinway baby grand with paint chipping and all of that. adds character.

i never ever saw the northern lights. i've been thinking about that a lot. i haven't. i should. someday. today is wednesday. this week has seemed uber-long. i need to shower. it's so easy to fall into this apathetic fugue state. i have a lot of lyotard to read this afternoon. a lot.

phish wrote a song for julia "butterfly" hill. do you remember her? she sat up in a tree forever to protest the logging of old growth forests. she named her tree 'luna.' she stayed up there so long. she had a little platform and they'd sent stuff up to her in buckets or whatever. what drives people to do such things? i mean, she was up there for months. is that considered putting your life on hold? is there really such thing? i mean, your life is never really on hold. even when it is, that's your life. it's sorta like when you think, ok, my life can start after x or y event. we tend to do it with school, i think. my life can start after college. my real life. whatever. this is your life. all those little distractions and obstacles and insignificant events; this is your life.

because of some pressure differential or something, whenever angie or lyn open their bathroom door, it sounds like they're knocking on my door. so whenever they actually knock, i think it's just them opening the bathroom door. it comes from one too many times of 'come in...' only to realize no one's knocking. so yeah. now they knock and i just ignore them and they walk in. i finally explained it to lyn today. she laughed.

ok, yeah, i'm going to shower now. i plan on being on time to my harp lesson. punctuality is not my forte. i think you really have to care about things to be on time to everything. besides, what is time? just something we made up so the world would be a little less mind-boggling.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!